Graduate Council Representatives

The Graduate Student Council consists of voting “Department Representatives” and non-voting “Cultural Club Representatives.” These representatives attend monthly council meetings, the minutes for which can be found here.

Department Representatives


  • Attend all Graduate Student Council meetings
    • If unable to attend, the individual must contact the VP of Student Development at least 5 days in advance with the name and email of the proxy
  • Forward announcements e-mailed via the GSA-reps listserv to the graduate students in his/her department
  • Organize one GSA event per semester OR serve on a University standing committee or internal GSA committee
  • Participate in GSA Representative’s Retreat
  • Ensure a new department representative is instated prior to stepping down
    • The April GSA Council Meeting is traditionally when this occurs
    • The VP of Student Development must be informed of the change-over
Department Name Email (
School of Architecture
Architecture Evio Isaac evio
Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies
Masters of Liberal Studies Diane Glick diane.glick
Teaching, Masters of Arts  Mary Ann Wosenitz mary.ann.wosenitz
George R. Brown School of Engineering
Bioengineering Gisele Calderon gisele.a.calderon
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Michell Brun mb76
Civil and Environmental Engineering Seth Pedersen seth.s.pedersen
Computational and Applied Mathematics Logan Smith logan.a.smith
Computer Science Lee Chen lhc1
Electrical and Computer Engineering Souptik Barua souptik.barua
Materials Science and Nanoengineering John Alred john.m.alred
Mechanical Engineering Danielle Perdue dmp6
Professional Masters in Engineering James Hwang jph3
Statistics Katherine Shoemaker kas23
School of Humanities
Art History Adrienne Rooney adrienne.rooney
English Lindsay Graham lindsay.d.graham
History Maki Kodama makikodama123
Philosophy David Erdel david.erdel
Religious Studies Tim Grieve-Carlson trg4
Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Management
Jones School of Business Raymond Ma raymond
Shepherd School of Music
Music, Shepherd School of Matt Ross
Jacob Schafer
Wiess School of Natural Sciences
Applied Physics Josh Hill jchill
Biochemistry and Cell Biology Anna Babushkina anna.s.babushkina
Chemistry Alicia Mangubat alicia.e.mangubat
Earth Sciences  Billy Farrell william.c.farrell
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Marion Donald marion.l.donald
Mathematics Vitalii Gerbuz Vitalii.Gerbuz
Physics and Astronomy Jacob M. Wahlen-Strothman jacom.m.wahlen-strothman
Professional Masters in Science Brittany Nicholson Brittany.A.Nicholson
Systems, Synthetic and Physical Biology Kareem Mehrabiani kmm5
School of Social Sciences
Anthropology Nathanael Vlachos than.vlachos
Economics Amir Kazempour akp
Linguistics Bazile Lanneau bazile.r.lanneau
Masters of Global Affairs Kevin Markowski kgm3
Masters of Energy Economics Ahmed Al Tammar aa96
Political Science Santiago Sosa sansosa
Psychology Stephanie Zajac stephanie.zajac
Sociology Cathy Boyd catherine.boyd

Organization Representatives

Organization Name Email (
Brazilian Student Association Luiza Gomes Ferreira luiza.g.ferreira
Indian Students at Rice Souptik Barua  souptik.barua
Korean Graduate Student Association Jin Bae jin-hyung.bae
Latin American Graduate Student Association Eduardo Villarreal eduardo.villarreal
Rice Iranian Society Aria HasanzadeZonuzy a.zonuzy
Rice Muslim Student Association Quazi Z. Rasool quazi.z.rasool


Print Friendly